Romance Is Boring

(Redirected from Romance is Boring)
Jump to: navigation, search
Romance Is Boring
Studio album by Los Campesinos!
Released 26 January 2010 (2010-01-26)
Recorded March–June 2009 at Carriage House Studios, Stamford, Connecticut; Two Sticks Audio, Seattle
Genre Indie pop, indie rock, noise pop
Length 48:22
Label Wichita, Arts & Crafts
Producer John Goodmanson
Los Campesinos! chronology
We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed
(2008)We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed2008
Romance Is Boring
All's Well That Ends
(2010)All's Well That Ends2010
Singles from Romance Is Boring
  1. "The Sea Is A Good Place To Think Of The Future"
    Released: 2 September 2009 (promotional)
  2. "There Are Listed Buildings"
    Released: 2 November 2009
  3. "Romance Is Boring"
    Released: 15 February 2010

Romance Is Boring is the third studio album by indie pop band Los Campesinos!. It was recorded in multiple locations in the United States and Wales and was produced by John Goodmanson.[1] It was released on 26 January 2010 in the United States and on 1 February in the United Kingdom.[2] It features guest appearances from Jamie Stewart of Xiu Xiu, Zac Pennington of Parenthetical Girls, and Jherek Bischoff of The Dead Science.[1] The album was described by frontman Gareth as being about "the death and decay of the human body, sex, lost love, mental breakdown, football and, ultimately, that there probably isn’t a light at the end of the tunnel". It is the band's final release to feature vocalist and keyboardist Aleksandra Campesinos!, who amicably left the band in August 2009, after the album had been recorded.

Track listing

All lyrics written by Gareth Campesinos! (apart from tracks four and eleven by Aleks Campesinos! and Gareth Campesinos!); all music composed by Tom Campesinos!, all string arrangements by Harriet and Tom Campesinos!.

No. Title Length
1. "In Medias Res" 4:42
2. "There Are Listed Buildings" 2:54
3. "Romance Is Boring" 2:35
4. "We've Got Your Back (Documented Minor Emotional Breakdown #2)" 4:29
5. "Plan A" 2:02
6. "200-102" 0:53
7. "Straight in at 101" 3:55
8. "Who Fell Asleep In" 4:11
9. "I Warned You: Do Not Make an Enemy of Me" 2:47
10. "Heart Swells/100-1" 0:46
11. "I Just Sighed. I Just Sighed, Just So You Know" 4:38
12. "A Heat Rash in the Shape of the Show Me State; or, Letters from Me to Charlotte" 3:43
13. "The Sea Is a Good Place to Think of the Future" 4:24
14. "This Is a Flag. There Is No Wind" 3:28
15. "Coda: A Burn Scar in the Shape of the Sooner State" 2:52
iTunes bonus track
No. Title Length
16. "Too Many Flesh Suppers" 4:49

Release history

Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
Allmusic [3]
Chart [4]
Clash (8/10)[5]
Consequence of Sound [6]
Drowned in Sound (8/10)[7]
NME (8/10)[8]
Pitchfork Media (8.3/10)[9]
PopMatters (9/10)[10]
Spin [11]
Under the Radar (7/10)[12]
Date Country Label (Cat#)
26 January 2010 (2010-01-26) United States/Canada Arts & Crafts (A&C050)
1 February 2010 (2010-02-01) United Kingdom Wichita Recordings (WEBB239)

Album sound and influences

The album generally stays true to the band's original indie pop genre. However, they were also applauded for greatly expanding their sound. When speaking of the album's influences, guitarist Tom Campesinos! cited Pavement, Guided by Voices, Blur and Modest Mouse as major influences upon the album.[13] Gareth Campesinos! cites novelist B. S. Johnson as an influence and references some of his work in the lyrics on the album.


Initial critical response was generally positive. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, the album has received an average score of 75, based on 24 reviews. [14] British music magazine NME gave the album a positive 8/10 review, naming it "a significant step forward", in comparison to previous material.[15] However, other reviews were less than positive, fellow British music magazine Uncut stated that "the band have beefed up their sound, at the expense of their spindly charm."[16]


Charts (2010) Peak
UK Albums Chart 92
US Top Heatseekers 3[17]
US Top Independent 28[17]


  • Aleksandra Campesinos! – lead vocals, keyboard
  • Ellen Campesinos! – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Gareth Campesinos! – lead vocals, glockenspiel
  • Harriet Campesinos! – violin, keyboard
  • Neil Campesinos! – guitar, backing vocals
  • Ollie Campesinos! – drums
  • Tom Campesinos! – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Kim Campesinos! – shruti box, piccolo
  • Zac Pennington – backing vocals
  • Jamie Stewart – vocals
  • Eric Corson – vocals, engineering
  • Jherek Bischoff – vocals, trombone, double bass
  • Izaak Mills – saxophone, flute
  • Samantha Boshnack – trumpet, flugel horn
  • John Goodmanson – production, recording, mixing
  • Guy Davie – mastering


  1. ^ a b "Los Campesinos! on Recording Romance Is Boring". EQ Magazine. 26 October 2009. Archived from the original on 22 November 2010. Retrieved 17 December 2009. 
  2. ^ "Los Campesinos! announce new LP". Pitchfork Media. 2009-10-26. Retrieved 2009-12-17. 
  3. ^ Allmusic review
  4. ^ Bryson, Scott (2010-01-28). "Chart review". Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  5. ^ "Clash review". 2010-01-22. Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  6. ^ Bob Mandich (2010-02-01). "Consequence of Sound review". Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  7. ^ Jay, Simon (2010-01-25). "Drowned in Sound review". Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  8. ^ "NME review". 2010-02-01. Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  9. ^ "Pitchfork Media review". 2010-02-01. Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  10. ^ Sargent, Jordan. "PopMatters review". Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  11. ^ Modell, Josh. "Spin review". Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  12. ^ Rytlewski, Evan. "Under the Radar review". Retrieved 2011-08-17. 
  13. ^ "Los Campesinos! :: The 12 Records that Influenced Romance Is Boring". 
  14. ^ "Los Campesinos!:Romance Is Boring (2010):Reviews". Metacritic. Retrieved 2010-02-18. 
  15. ^ "Album review: Los Campesinos! - 'Romance Is Boring". NME. 
  16. ^ "Los Campesinos!:Romance Is Boring (2010):Reviews". Metacritic. 
  17. ^ a b