Jump to navigation Jump to search
Lenvik kommune
Leaŋgáviika suohkan
View of Finnsnes

Coat of arms

Troms within

Lenvik within Troms
Coordinates: 69°23′01″N 17°58′03″E / 69.38361°N 17.96750°E / 69.38361; 17.96750Coordinates: 69°23′01″N 17°58′03″E / 69.38361°N 17.96750°E / 69.38361; 17.96750
Country Norway
County Troms
District Midt-Troms
Established 1838
Administrative centre Finnsnes
 • Mayor (2011) Geir-Inge Sivertsen (H)
 • Total 892.69 km2 (344.67 sq mi)
 • Land 848.88 km2 (327.75 sq mi)
 • Water 43.81 km2 (16.92 sq mi)
Area rank #126 in Norway
Population (2017)
 • Total 11,697
 • Rank #100 in Norway
 • Density 13.8/km2 (36/sq mi)
 • Change (10 years) 6.1%
Demonym(s) Lenvikværing[1]
Time zone CET (UTC+01:00)
 • Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+02:00)
ISO 3166 code NO-1931
Official language form Neutral
Website lenvik.kommune.no

Lenvik (Northern Sami: Leaŋgáviika) is a municipality in Troms county, Norway. The municipality is partly situated on the mainland, partly on the island of Senja. The administrative centre is the town of Finnsnes, where the Gisund Bridge connects Senja to the mainland on Norwegian County Road 86. Other villages in the municipality include Aglapsvik, Gibostad, Botnhamn, Fjordgård, Finnfjordbotn, Husøy, Langnes, Laukhella, Silsand, and Rossfjordstraumen. The lake Lysvatnet is located on Senja island west of Gibostad.

The 893-square-kilometre (345 sq mi) municipality is the 126th largest by area out of the 422 municipalities in Norway. Lenvik is the 100th most populous municipality in Norway with a population of 11,697. The municipality's population density is 13.8 inhabitants per square kilometre (36/sq mi) and its population has increased by 6.1% over the last decade.[2]

General information

View of the lake Rossfjordstraumen

The large municipality of Lenvik was established on 1 January 1838 (see formannskapsdistrikt). In 1848, most of the mainland parts of Lenvik (population: 2,616) was separated to form the new municipality of Målselv, leaving Lenvik with 3,029 residents. Then in 1855, the northern part of Lenvik (population: 811) was separated to form the new municipality of Hillesøy. This left Lenvik with 2,757 inhabitants. On 1 January 1871, a small part of Lenvik (population: 70) was transferred to the neighboring municipality of Malangen.

On 1 January 1964, many several neighboring areas were merged into Lenvik:

  • the part of Sørreisa on the island of Senja (population: 129)
  • the Hellemo, Paulsrud, Johnsgård, and Stormo farms in Tranøy (population: 106)
  • the part of Hillesøy on Senja and the island of Hekkingen (population: 1,159)

These areas joined to old areas of Lenvik to form a new, larger municipality of Lenvik with a total population of 10,219.[3]

In March 2017, the Parliament of Norway voted to merge the municipalities of Berg, Torsken, Lenvik, and Tranøy. The new municipality will encompass the whole island of Senja plus part of the mainland. The new municipality will be established on 1 January 2020 and it will be called Senja.[4][5]


The municipality (originally the parish) is named after the old Lenvik farm (Old Norse: Lengjuvík), since the first church (Lenvik Church) was built there. The first element is the genitive case of the river name Lengja and the last element is vík which means "cove" or "wick". The river name is derived from the word langr which means "long". From 1889-1908, the name was spelled Lenviken.[6]


The coat-of-arms is from modern times. They were granted on 22 August 1986. The arms show three gold oars on a blue background. The oars and color blue are a symbol for the fishing and sailing in the municipality. To distinguish the arms from those from many other fishing towns, the oar was chosen as a symbol.[7]


The Church of Norway has one parish (sokn) within the municipality of Lenvik. It is part of the Senja prosti (deanery) in the Diocese of Nord-Hålogaland.

Churches in Lenvik
Parish (Sokn) Church Name Location of the Church Year Built
Lenvik Finnsnes Church Finnsnes 1979
Lenvik Church Bjorelvnes 1879
Rossfjord Church Rossfjordstraumen 1822
Fjordgård Chapel Fjordgård 1976
Gibostad Chapel Gibostad 1939
Husøy Chapel Husøy i Senja 1957
Lysbotn Chapel Lysnes 1970
Sandbakken Chapel Sandbakken 1974


The first church was built around 1150 at Bjorelvnes, and for a century, this was the northernmost church in the world. Important villages in the past include Klauva and Gibostad. Gibostad was the administrative centre until the 1960s, when the administration was moved to Finnsnes. In 2000, Finnsnes was declared a town.


The municipality of Lenvik lies partly on the island of Senja and also on the mainland of Norway. The Malangen fjord flows along the northern boundary and the Solbergfjorden lies on the southern boundary. The Gisundet strait runs north-south through the center of the municipality with only one road crossing, the Gisund Bridge. The municipalities of Berg and Tranøy border the municipality to the west, the municipality of Tromsø is to the north (across the Malangen fjord), the municipalities of Balsfjord and Målselv are to the east, and the municipalities of Sørreisa and Dyrøy are to the south.


Climate data for Gibostad, Lenvik
Month Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Year
Average high °C (°F) −1.9
Daily mean °C (°F) −4.4
Average low °C (°F) −7.1
Average precipitation mm (inches) 85
Average precipitation days (≥ 1 mm) 13.4 12.4 11.5 10.7 9.2 10.6 13.2 12.4 14.3 16.0 14.7 15.6 154.0
Source: Norwegian Meteorological Institute[8]


All municipalities in Norway, including Lenvik, are responsible for primary education (through 10th grade), outpatient health services, senior citizen services, unemployment and other social services, zoning, economic development, and municipal roads. The municipality is governed by a municipal council of elected representatives, which in turn elect a mayor.

Municipal council

The municipal council (Kommunestyre) of Lenvik is made up of 31 representatives that are elected to four year terms. Currently, the party breakdown is as follows:[9]

Lenvik Kommunestyre 2015–2019
Party Name Name in Norwegian Number of
  Labour Party Arbeiderpartiet 8
  Progress Party Fremskrittspartiet 4
  Conservative Party Høyre 7
  Christian Democratic Party Kristelig Folkeparti 2
  Centre Party Senterpartiet 3
  Socialist Left Party Sosialistisk Venstreparti 2
  Liberal Party Venstre 1
  Local Lists Lokale lister 4
Total number of members: 31

Media gallery


  1. ^ "Navn på steder og personer: Innbyggjarnamn" (in Norwegian). Språkrådet. Retrieved 2015-12-01. 
  2. ^ Statistisk sentralbyrå (2017). "Table: 06913: Population 1 January and population changes during the calendar year (M)" (in Norwegian). Retrieved 2017-09-09. 
  3. ^ Jukvam, Dag (1999). "Historisk oversikt over endringer i kommune- og fylkesinndelingen" (PDF) (in Norwegian). Statistisk sentralbyrå. 
  4. ^ "Senja kommune 2020" (in Norwegian). Retrieved 2017-09-09. 
  5. ^ Vermes, Thomas (2017-03-29). "Stortingsflertallet gjør fire Senja-kommuner til én". ABC Nyheter (in Norwegian). Retrieved 2017-09-09. 
  6. ^ Rygh, Oluf (1911). Norske gaardnavne: Troms amt (in Norwegian) (17 ed.). Kristiania, Norge: W. C. Fabritius & sønners bogtrikkeri. p. 90. 
  7. ^ Norske Kommunevåpen (1990). "Nye kommunevåbener i Norden". Retrieved 2008-12-04. 
  8. ^ "eKlima Web Portal". Norwegian Meteorological Institute. Archived from the original on 2004-06-14. 
  9. ^ "Table: 04813: Members of the local councils, by party/electoral list at the Municipal Council election (M)" (in Norwegian). Statistics Norway. 2015. 

External links