Goody's 250

Jump to: navigation, search
2006 Goody's 250
Race details[1][2]
Race 21 of 35 in the 2006 NASCAR Busch Series
Date July 22, 2006 (2006-07-22)
Location Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, Virginia
Course Permanent racing facility
0.526 mi (0.847 km)
Distance 250 laps, 131.5 mi (211.629 km)
Average speed 61.139 mph (98.394 km/h)
Pole position
Driver Richard Childress Racing
Time 19.735
Most laps led
Driver Kevin Harvick Richard Childress Racing
Laps 149
No. 21 Kevin Harvick Richard Childress Racing
Television in the United States
Network NBC
Announcers Allen Bestwick, Wally Dallenbach, Jr.
Nielsen Ratings
  • 1.7 (Final)
  • (1,926,000 million)[3]

The Goody's 250 was a NASCAR Busch Series stock car race held at Martinsville Speedway, in Martinsville, Virginia. The race was only held once, on July 22, 2006, as a standalone event during the summer. It had been speculated the race would be held at night, under a temporary lighting system to be installed at the track, but it was held in the afternoon instead. The Goody's 250 replaced the ITT Industries & Goulds Pumps Salute to the Troops 250 on the Busch Series schedule. After a Busch Series Martinsville record high 19 cautions for 87 laps, the Goody's 250 was replaced in 2007 by the NAPA Auto Parts 200 at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve road course in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The race was the final start in NASCAR for Darrell Waltrip and Ricky Craven.



Martinsville Speedway, where the race was held

The Goody's 250 was the 21st out of 35 scheduled stock car races of the 2006 NASCAR Busch Series. It was held on July 22, 2006 at Martinsville Speedway, in Martinsville, Virginia,[2] one of five short tracks to hold NASCAR races; the others are Richmond International Raceway, Dover International Speedway, Bristol Motor Speedway and Phoenix International Raceway.[4] The standard track at Martinsville Speedway is a four-turn, 0.526-mile (0.847 km) oval. Its turns are banked at eleven degrees, and neither the front stretch (the location of the finish line) nor the back stretch is banked.[5]

Before the race, Kevin Harvick led the Drivers' Championship with 3,092 points, with Carl Edwards in second and Clint Bowyer third. Denny Hamlin and J. J. Yeley were fourth and fifth, and Greg Biffle, Paul Menard, Kyle Busch, Johnny Sauter and Kenny Wallace rounded out the top ten.[6] It was the first Busch Series race to be held at Martinsville since October 1994,[7] and it had been speculated the race would be held under night conditions with a temporary lighting system installed at the track, but it was held in the afternoon instead.[8]

Two drivers chose to make a one-off return to NASCAR at the race. Three-time Nextel Cup Series champion Darrell Waltrip drove the No. 99 Michael Waltrip Racing car by gaining the permission of his wife Stevie after his younger brother Michael Waltrip asked if he wanted to race.[9] Since his car was placed 16th in the Owner's Championship, Waltrip earned an automatic qualifying berth for the event.[10] Despite winning eleven times at Martinsville in the Nextel Cup Series, the Goody's 250 marked Waltrip's first appearance at the track in the Busch Series.[9] Waltrip said he was entering the race because of his belief he could be competitive: "I’m going to come in there, I’ve got the latest and greatest equipment and Michael’s bunch is excited, I’m pumped and I think we’ll have a lot of fun."[10] 1992 NASCAR Busch Series Rookie of the Year and two-time Nextel Cup winner Ricky Craven returned to the former series and drove the No. 14 car owned by FitzBradshaw Racing.[1] However, unlike Waltrip, Craven needed to qualify since both FitzBradshaw cars were not within the top-thirty placings in the Owners' Championship.[11]

Race results

2006 Goody's 250 Top Ten Finishers
Pos. Car # Driver Make Team
1 21 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
2 2 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing
3 20 Denny Hamlin Chevrolet Joe Gibbs Racing
4 41 Reed Sorenson Dodge Chip Ganassi Racing
5 00 Johnny Sauter Chevrolet Haas CNC Racing
6 60 Carl Edwards Ford Roush Racing
7 10 John Andretti Ford ppc Racing
8 38 Jason Leffler Chevrolet Braun Racing
9 18 J. J. Yeley Chevrolet Joe Gibbs Racing
10 01 Jay Sauter Chevrolet Duesenberg & Leik Motorsports
Average race speed: 61.139 mph (98.394 km/h)
Lead changes: 7 among 4 drivers
Cautions: 19 for 87 laps Winner's Prize (USD): $74,925


  1. ^ a b "The Race: 2006 Goodys 250 - Martinsville Speedway". Jayski's Silly Season Site. ESPN Internet Ventures. Retrieved March 17, 2016. 
  2. ^ a b "2006 Goody's 250". Racing-Reference. USA Today Sports Media Group. Retrieved August 16, 2017. 
  3. ^ Smith, Michael (February 12, 2007). "What's next for the Busch Series?". Sports Business Daily. Retrieved August 16, 2017. 
  4. ^ "NASCAR Race Tracks". NASCAR. Turner Sports Interactive, Inc. Archived from the original on October 12, 2010. Retrieved October 22, 2010. 
  5. ^ ESPN SportsTravel (October 26, 2011). "Martinsville Speedway". ESPN. ESPN Internet Ventures. Archived from the original on January 4, 2012. Retrieved January 11, 2016. 
  6. ^ "Busch Series points leaders". Arizona Daily Star. July 20, 2006. p. 28. Retrieved August 16, 2017 – via open access publication – free to read. 
  7. ^ Sorenson, Reed (July 26, 2006). "Poor run at Pocono overshadows solid Busch showing in Martinsville". USA Today. Retrieved August 16, 2017. 
  8. ^ "Martinsville Busch race moved to afternoon". SceneDaily. May 14, 2006. Archived from the original on May 21, 2006. Retrieved August 16, 2017. 
  9. ^ a b "Darrell Waltrip Slated to Drive No. 99 Aaron's Dream Machine At Martinsville Speedway". GlobeNewswire. July 18, 2006. Retrieved August 16, 2017. 
  10. ^ a b White, Ben (July 18, 2006). "Time is still of the essence for Darrell Waltrip". The Dispatch. Retrieved August 16, 2017. 
  11. ^ Rodman, Dave (July 19, 2006). "Craven makes NASCAR return at Martinsville". NASCAR. Archived from the original on August 7, 2006. Retrieved August 16, 2017.