Freedom Fighters and Rehabilitation Division

Jump to navigation Jump to search

Freedom Fighters & Rehabilitation Division is a division of the Ministry of Home Affairs, India. The division manages the national pension scheme to freedom fighters (Swatantrata Sainiks) and their dependents. The division also handles rehabilitation assistance for refugees and migrants from Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Tibet.[1]

The freedom fighters pension scheme was instituted in 1972. Eligible as freedom fighters are people who;

  • had suffered an imprisonment of 6 months or more in connection with the freedom struggle (3 months in the case of women and SC/ST freedom fighters.).
  • remained underground for six months or more.
  • were interned in their homes or external from their district for six months or more.
  • whose property was confiscated or attached and sold due to participation in the national freedom struggle.
  • were permanently incapacitated during firing or lathi charge.
  • lost government employments due to the participation in the freedom struggle.
  • were awarded the punishment of 10 strokes of canning/flogging/whipping.[2]

The following movements and mutinies are recognized by the central government of India for the purpose of the freedom fighters pensione scheme administered by the division:[2][3]

  1. Suez Canal Army Revolt in 1943 & Ambala Cantt. Army Revolt in 1943
  2. Jhansi Regiment Case in Army (1940)
  3. Rani Jhansi Regiment and Azad Hind of the Indian National Army (1943–45)
  4. Hollwell monument removed/ Movement conducted by Netaji in 1940 at Calcutta
  5. Royal Indian Navy Mutiny, 1946
  6. Khilafat Movement
  7. Harse Chhina Mogha Morcha (1946–47)
  8. Moplah Rebellion (1921–22)
  9. Arya Samaj Movement in the erstwhile Hyderabad State (1947–48)
  10. Madurai Conspiracy Case (1945–47)
  11. Border Camp Cases in erstwhile Hyderabad State (1947–48)
  12. The Ghaddar Movement
  13. The Gurdwara Reform Movement (1920–25) (including: a) Taran Taran Morcha, Nankana Tragedy of February (1920), The Golden Temple Ke Affairs (Morcha Chabian Saheb), Guru ka Bagh Morcha, Babbar Akali Movement, Jaito Morcha, Bhai Pheru Morcha, The Sikh Conspiracy (Golden Temple) of 1924)
  14. Praja Mandal Movement in the erstwhile Princely States (1939–49)
  15. Kirti Kisan Movement (1927)
  16. Naujawan Bharat Sabha (1926–31)
  17. Quit India Movement (1942)
  18. Indian Independence League (1942 to 1946)
  19. Merger movement in the former French and Portugueses possessions in India
  20. Peshawar Kand in which members of the Garhwal Rifles took part
  21. Read Leaf Conspiracy Case (1931)
  22. Chaura Chauri Kand (1922)
  23. Aranya Satyagraha of Karnataka (1939–40)
  24. Goa Liberation Movement
  25. Kalipattanam Agitation (1941–42)
  26. Kallara-Pangode case.
  27. Kadakkal Riot Case
  28. Chengannur Riot Case
  29. Vattiyoorkavu Conference
  30. Anti-Independent Travancore Movement
  31. Punnapra-Vayalar Movement
  32. Karivelloor Movement
  33. Kauvambai Movement
  34. Kayyur Movement
  35. Morazha Movement
  36. Malabar Special Police Strike (MSP Strike)
  37. Dadara Nagar Haveli Movement.


  1. ^
  2. ^ a b "Archived copy" (PDF). Archived from the original (PDF) on 2011-07-16. Retrieved 2010-05-14.CS1 maint: Archived copy as title (link)
  3. ^ Pensioners Portal