(Redirected from Fræna Municipality)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Fræna kommune
View from Lågheia near Elnesvågen

Coat of arms

Møre og Romsdal within

Fræna within Møre og Romsdal
Coordinates: 62°54′28″N 07°06′30″E / 62.90778°N 7.10833°E / 62.90778; 7.10833Coordinates: 62°54′28″N 07°06′30″E / 62.90778°N 7.10833°E / 62.90778; 7.10833
Country Norway
County Møre og Romsdal
District Romsdal
Administrative centre Elnesvågen
 • Mayor (2015) Tove Henøen (Sp)
 • Total 369.74 km2 (142.76 sq mi)
 • Land 361.93 km2 (139.74 sq mi)
 • Water 7.81 km2 (3.02 sq mi)
Area rank #250 in Norway
Population (2017)
 • Total 9,741
 • Rank #116 in Norway
 • Density 26.9/km2 (70/sq mi)
 • Change (10 years) 6.7%
Demonym(s) Frening[1]
Time zone CET (UTC+01:00)
 • Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+02:00)
ISO 3166 code NO-1548
Official language form Nynorsk

Fræna is a municipality in Møre og Romsdal county, Norway. It is part of the region of Romsdal. The municipality is located on the Romsdal peninsula surrounding the Frænfjorden, the eastern shore of the Julsundet strait, and includes most of the Hustadvika area. It also includes the now-abandoned Bjørnsund islands.

The main village and administrative centre in Fræna is Elnesvågen with over 2,300 inhabitants. Moxy Engineering, Hustad Marmor, and Tine Meierier are all factories located in Elnesvågen. Other villages in Fræna include Hustad, Bud, Tornes, Sylte, Malme, and Aureosen. The area is nice for hiking, including the mountains are Heiane/Lågheiane and Jendemsfjellet.

The 370-square-kilometre (140 sq mi) municipality is the 250th largest by area out of the 422 municipalities in Norway. Fræna is the 116th most populous municipality in Norway with a population of 9,741. The municipality's population density is 26.9 inhabitants per square kilometre (70/sq mi) and its population has increased by 6.7% over the last decade.[2]

General information

View of the Frænfjorden
View of Bud Church

The municipality of Fræna was established in 1840 when it was separated from the municipality of Akerø. The original municipality was named Vaagø and it surrounded the Frænfjorden. Later the name was changed to Fræna.

On 1 January 1964, Bud Municipality and Hustad Municipality were merged with Fræna to form a new, larger municipality of Fræna.[3]

On 1 January 2020, the neighboring municipalities of Eide and Fræna will be merged into the new municipality of Hustadvika.[4][5]


The municipality is named after the Frænfjorden (Old Norse: Fræni). The meaning of the name is unknown, but it might be derived from frænn which means "bright" or "shiny". Before 1865, the parish and municipality were named Vaagø (and the main church was Vågøy Church, which also was historically spelled Vaagø). From 1865-1918, the name was written Frænen, and since 1918 it has had its current spelling, Fræna.[6]


The coat-of-arms is from modern times. They were granted on 15 May 1995. The arms show three blue waves on a gold background. The arms were chosen to symbolize the municipality's connection to the sea.[7]


The Church of Norway has four parishes (sokn) within the municipality of Fræna. It is part of the Molde arch-deanery in the Diocese of Møre.

Churches in Fræna
Parish (Sokn) Church Name Location of the Church Year Built
Bud Bud Church Bud 1717
Hustad Hustad Church Hustad 1874
Myrbostad Myrbostad Church Elnesvågen 1880
Vågøy Vågøy Church Vågøya 1904


View of the village of Aureosen

The municipality of Fræna sits on the northwestern end of the Romsdal Peninsula. The Norwegian Sea lies to the north, the Harøyfjorden, Julsundet strait, and Aukra Municipality lie to the west, Molde Municipality lies to the south, and Gjemnes Municipality and Eide Municipality lie to the east.

The Frænfjorden cuts into the middle of the municipality. The coastal areas are low and marshy while the interior of the municipality is mountainous. Two of the more notable mountains are Jendemsfjellet and Heiane. The Bjørnsund islands lie off the northwestern coast of Fræna. They are now uninhabited, but the Bjørnsund Lighthouse is still in operation.


All municipalities in Norway, including Fræna, are responsible for primary education (through 10th grade), outpatient health services, senior citizen services, unemployment and other social services, zoning, economic development, and municipal roads. The municipality is governed by a municipal council of elected representatives, which in turn elect a mayor.

Municipal council

The municipal council (Kommunestyre) of Fræna is made up of 31 representatives that are elected to four year terms. Currently, the party breakdown is as follows:[8]

Fræna Kommunestyre 2015–2019
Party Name Name in Norwegian Number of
 Labour PartyArbeiderpartiet6
 Progress PartyFramstegspartiet3
 Conservative PartyHøgre6
 Christian Democratic PartyKristelig Folkeparti3
 Centre PartySenterpartiet11
 Socialist Left PartySosialistisk Venstreparti1
 Liberal PartyVenstre1
Total number of members:31


  1. ^ "Navn på steder og personer: Innbyggjarnamn" (in Norwegian). Språkrådet. Retrieved 2015-12-01. 
  2. ^ Statistisk sentralbyrå (2017). "Table: 06913: Population 1 January and population changes during the calendar year (M)" (in Norwegian). Retrieved 2017-10-09. 
  3. ^ Jukvam, Dag (1999). "Historisk oversikt over endringer i kommune- og fylkesinndelingen" (PDF) (in Norwegian). Statistisk sentralbyrå. 
  4. ^ "Hustadvika kommune endelig vedtatt!" (in Norwegian). Fræna kommune. Retrieved 2017-10-09. 
  5. ^ "Nye Eide og Fræna kommune" (in Norwegian). Retrieved 2017-10-09. 
  6. ^ Rygh, Oluf (1908). Norske gaardnavne: Romsdals amt (in Norwegian) (13 ed.). Kristiania, Norge: W. C. Fabritius & sønners bogtrikkeri. p. 290. 
  7. ^ "Vedtekter for bruk av kommunevåpen Fræna kommune" (in Norwegian). Retrieved 2008-10-18. 
  8. ^ "Table: 04813: Members of the local councils, by party/electoral list at the Municipal Council election (M)" (in Norwegian). Statistics Norway. 2015. 

External links