Aroma Township, Kankakee County, Illinois

Jump to: navigation, search
Aroma Township

Location in Kankakee County

Kankakee County's location in Illinois
Coordinates: 41°04′34″N 87°46′46″W / 41.07611°N 87.77944°W / 41.07611; -87.77944Coordinates: 41°04′34″N 87°46′46″W / 41.07611°N 87.77944°W / 41.07611; -87.77944
Country United States
State Illinois
County Kankakee
Established May 9, 1853
 • Supervisor Morris Scott
 • Total 37.98 sq mi (98.4 km2)
 • Land 37.06 sq mi (96.0 km2)
 • Water 0.92 sq mi (2.4 km2)  2.42%
Elevation 604 ft (184 m)
Population (2010)
 • Estimate (2016)[1] 4,978
 • Density 139.2/sq mi (53.7/km2)
Time zone CST (UTC-6)
 • Summer (DST) CDT (UTC-5)
ZIP codes 60901, 60910, 60954, 60964
FIPS code 17-091-02245

Aroma Township is one of seventeen townships in Kankakee County, Illinois, USA. As of the 2010 census, its population was 5,157 and it contained 2,203 housing units.[2]


According to the 2010 census, the township has a total area of 37.98 square miles (98.4 km2), of which 37.06 square miles (96.0 km2) (or 97.58%) is land and 0.92 square miles (2.4 km2) (or 2.42%) is water.[2]

Aroma township includes the Iroquois Woods Nature Preserve and Strasma Park.

Cities, towns, villages

Adjacent townships


The township contains these six cemeteries: Aroma Park, B'nai Israel, Bebe Family, Kankakee Memorial Gardens, Flower, and Leggtown.

Major highways

Junction of the Iroquois River (left) and the Kankakee River


Historical population
Census Pop.
Est. 2016 4,978 [1]
U.S. Decennial Census[3]


The township is governed by an elected Town Board of a Supervisor and four Trustees. The Township also has an elected Assessor, Clerk, Highway Commissioner and Supervisor. The Township Office is located at 3955 South 3250 East Road, St. Anne, IL 60964.

Political districts

School districts

  • Kankakee School District 111
  • Momence Community Unit School District 1


External links