AIDA International

Jump to: navigation, search
Association Internationale pour le Développement de l'Apnée
AIDA International
Abbreviation AIDA
Formation 1992
Type Sports Federation
Headquarters Lausanne, Switzerland
Region served
Official language
French, English
Carla Hanson
Affiliations EUF[1]

Association Internationale pour le Développement de l'Apnée (AIDA) (English: International Association for Development of Apnea) is a worldwide rule- and record-keeping body for competitive breath holding events (freediving).[2] It aims to set standards for safety, comparability of Official World Record attempts and freedive education. AIDA International is the parent organization for national clubs of the same name.


  • November 2, 1992: Frenchmen Roland Specker, Loïc Leferme and Claude Chapuis, founded AIDA in Nice, France, with Specker as its first President
  • 1993: AIDA Competitions start to take form
  • 1994-95: National clubs begin to form over all Europe
  • 1996: First AIDA Team World Championship in Nice, France, for national teams
  • 1998: Second AIDA Team World Championship, Sardinia, Italy
  • 1999: Sébastien Nagel, Switzerland, replaced Roland Specker as the President
  • 2001: Third AIDA Team World Championship, Ibiza, Spain
  • 2004: Fourth AIDA Team World Championship, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • 2005: Bill Strömberg, Sweden, replaced Sébastien Nagel as President
  • 2005: First AIDA Individual World Championship, Renens, Switzerland
  • 2005: Second AIDA Individual World Championship, Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
  • 2006: Fifth AIDA Team World Championship, Hurghada, Egypt
  • 2007: Third AIDA Individual World Championship, Maribor, Slovenia
  • 2007: Fourth AIDA Individual World Championship, Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt
  • 2008: Sixth AIDA Team World Championship, Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt.
  • 2009: Fifth AIDA Individual World Championship, Aarhus, Denmark.
  • 2009: Sixth AIDA Individual World Championship, Dean's Blue Hole, Bahamas.
  • 2009: December, Kimmo Lahtinen, Finland, replaced Bill Strömberg as President
  • 2010: Seventh AIDA Team World Championship, Okinawa, Japan
  • 2011: Seventh AIDA Individual World Championship, Kalamata, Greece
  • 2011: Eighth AIDA Individual World Championship, Lignano, Italy
  • 2012: Eighth AIDA Team World Championship, Nice, France
  • 2013: Ninth AIDA Individual World Championship, Belgrade, Serbia
  • 2013: Tenth AIDA Individual World Championship, Kalamata, Greece
  • 2014: Ninth AIDA Team World Championship, Cagliari, Italy

Qualifications and certifications

AIDA has a star system for grading its freediving certifications:

Freedive certifications

  • AIDA 1 Star Freedive, 8m CWT, 1'15" STA, 25m DYN.
  • AIDA 2 Star Freediver, 16m CWT, 2' STA, 40m DYN.
  • AIDA 3 Star Freediver, 24m CWT, 2'45" STA, 55m DYN.
  • AIDA 4 Star Freediver, 32m CWT, 3'30" STA, 80m DYN.

Speciality certifications

  • Competition Safety Freediver.
  • Competition Freediver.
  • Deep Tank Freediver.
  • Monofin Freediver.

AIDA has 3 levels of Instructor qualifications and certifications:

Instructor certifications

  • AIDA Instructor, can teach up to 3 Star Freediver.
  • AIDA Master Instructor, can teach up to 4 Star Freediver.
  • AIDA Instructor Trainer, can teach all levels, and instructors.


AIDA recognized world records as of July 31, 2014

Sea Disciplines

Constant weight apnea (CWT)

Deep freediving using bifins or a monofin.[2]



Constant weight apnea without fins (CNF)

Deep freediving using swimming strokes only, no fins allowed.[2]



Free immersion apnea (FIM)

Deep freediving, allowing pulling along the vertical depth rope.[2]



Variable weight apnea (VWT)

Deep freediving using a weighted sled for descent, pulling along the depth rope for ascent.[2]


  • 146 m
  • Name: Stavros Kastrinakis  Greece
  • Date: 2015-01-11
  • Place: Kalamata, Greece


No limit apnea (NLT)

Unrestricted deep freediving, all propulsion means allowed, traditionally using a weighted sled for descent and inflatable balloon for ascent.[2]



Pool Disciplines

Static Apnea (STA)

Immovable breath hold for time.[2]



Dynamic apnea with fins (DYN)

Horizontal freediving for distance, using bifins or a monofin.[2]


  • 300 m
  • Name: Mateusz Malina  Poland
  • Date: 2016-07-03
  • Place: Turku, Finland


Dynamic apnea without fins (DNF)

Horizontal freediving for distance, no fins allowed.[2]


  • 244 m
  • Name: Mateusz Malina  Poland
  • Date: 2016-07-02
  • Place: Turku, Finland


  • 184 m
  • Name: Magdalena Solich  Poland
  • Date: 2016-07-02
  • Place: Turku, Finland

See also


  1. ^ "Associate/Observers". European Underwater Federation. Retrieved 16 December 2012. 
  2. ^ a b c d e f g h i McKie, N (2004). "Freediving in cyberspace". Journal of the South Pacific Underwater Medicine Society. 34: 101–3. Retrieved 2013-10-05. 

External links